Freedom Baptist Church was organized with seven charter members on August 25, 1979 under the leadership of Pastor T. D. Worthington. Those seven charter members are:

  • T.D. and Joan Worthington
  • Donald and Kathy Pearce
  • Polly Boykin
  • William Grady
  • Don Armstrong

The spirit of unity and anticipation prevailed upon the newly formed congregation and God blessed the unity in a great way.

The beginning days saw a nursing home ministry established under the direction of Joan Worthington which developed into a ministry in four different area rest homes.

Later in 1979, a fifteen-minute broadcast, “The Freedom Hour”, was transmitted across WSSG. The first Sunday School consisted of one adult class and a nursery.

A choir was established in 1980 with Mr. Bill Sutton as the first music diretor.

Freedom Christian School was opened in 1982 as an alternative to the educational choices in our area. We now sponsor Wayne Christian School.

In 1985, a prison ministry was started with Kilby Turner as full-time director. Mr. Turner also served in our Sunday School and maintained the building for services.

As the children’s ministry grew, there was a need for an organized Bible program and AWANA was started in 1987 for 3 year olds to 6th grade. Word of Life was added later for grades 7-12.

There have been four locations for Freedom Baptist Church. A little building on Grantham Street was the temporary home for the first year. In 1980, the church relocated to a building on A Street which could seat 140. In February 1982, the church relocated to the former Weils Department Store location on Center Street. This facility was where the church called home until 2003.

In September 2003, Freedom Baptist Church moved to the current location after purchasing 14 acres on Country Day Road and building a new facility. In 2004, Phase 2 was completed as our gymnasium. Phase 3, which consists of offices, classrooms, and a larger nursery, was completed in 2018. Phase 4, the large sanctuary, is planned for the future.

Over the course of its existence, five Senior Pastors have served Freedom Baptist Church:

  • Pastor T. D. Worthington (1979 – 1991)
  • Pastor Richard Overman (1992 – 1999)
  • Pastor Bruce Barton (1999 – 2002)
  • Pastor David Jackson (2003 – 2013)
  • Pastor Jonathan Smith (2013 – present)

Pastor Carlie Hinnant served as Interim Pastor on two separate occasions (following Pastors Overman and Barton).

The current Pastoral staff includes the following:

  • Pastor Jonathan Smith (July 2007)
  • Pastor Raymond Deck (March 2012)
  • Pastor David Sheldon (January 2014)

There continues to be a wonderful air of excitement and anticipation every time we come together at Freedom Baptist Church. God is moving and stirring in our hearts as we witness the transforming power of Jesus Christ. We are telling the Gospel story and invite you to join the journey.